

CAGONT Annual Report 2015

The Canadian Association of Geographers - Ontario Division (CAGONT) held its Annual Meeting at Carleton University in Ottawa from October 23-24, 2015. The total number of attendees was 121. Other numbers of note:

- Total papers/posters: 99 including
 - o 74 papers,
 - o 24 posters and
 - 1 plenary talk by Professor Tim Burt (Durham University, UK).

A huge thank you on behalf of the CAGONT Executive to Chris Burn and the entire team in the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies that made the conference a tremendous success.

The 2015 <u>Service to Ontario Geography Award</u> was presented to Marilyne Jollineau from Brock University. The citation read:

I would like to officially recognize Dr. Marilyne Jollineau's significant and lasting contribution to scholarship, teaching, and service to geography in Ontario by nominating her for the CAGONT Service to Ontario Geography Award.

Dr. Jollineau served as the President of CAGONT from 2010-2013, in addition to serving as Vice President from 2005-2009 and Past President from 2013-2014. During this time, she was instrumental in planning CAGONT/ELDAAG 2008 and the CAG Annual Meeting in 2014, both hosted by Brock University's Department of Geography.

In addition to Dr. Jollineau's extensive service to CAGONT and the CAG, she is an inspiring academic and dedicated mentor.

Dr. Jollineau is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Geography at Brock University, and more recently moved into the role of Interim Graduate Program Director of the Sustainability Science and Society Program within the Environmental Sustainability Research Centre.

Serving as my Masters supervisor, Dr. Jollineau was dedicated and inspiring mentor, giving me the support and resources necessary to be successful. I am

certain that Marilyne's mentorship enabled me to complete my own Ph.D. Because of her, I am a better teacher, researcher, and academic.

Dr. Jollineau's dedication CAGONT, the CAG, the Department of Geography, and her many students make her most deserving of the Service to Ontario Geography Award.

Sincerely,

Dr. Victoria Fast, Ryerson University

The Student Paper Awards were:

Best Doctoral Research paper (\$200), Andrew Leung (University of Toronto – Scarborough),

Best Doctoral paper (\$200), Sarah Mason (University of Western Ontario),

Best Masters Research paper (\$150), Michele Colley (University of Toronto – Mississauga),

Best Masters paper (\$150), Ileana Diaz (University Western Ontario) and

Best Undergraduate paper (\$100), Adrian Buttazzoni (University Western Ontario).

The **Best Poster** (\$100) was awarded to Brodie Hague and Marilyne Jollineau from Brock University.

The CAGONT Annual General Meeting was held on October 24. Some terms on the Executive Committee came to an end and elections were held. The executive currently consists of the following members:

- Peter Kedron, Ryerson University, President (2015-2017)
- Wayne Forsythe, Ryerson University, Past President (2015-2016)
- Sarah Mason, University of Western Ontario, Vice President (2015-2017)
- Tanzina Mohsin, University of Toronto Scarborough, Treasurer (2012-2016)
- Evan Cleave, University of Western Ontario, Secretary (2014-2016)
- Vadim Sabetski, Ryerson University, Student Representative (2015-2016)
- Chris Burn, Carleton University, Representative from the department that held the last CAGONT Annual Meeting (2015-2016)

CAGONT would like to thank **Wayne Forsythe**, **Ryerson University** (the outgoing President and incoming Past President), **Sarah Mason**, **University of Western Ontario** (the outgoing Student Representative and incoming Vice President) and **Steven Tufts**, **York University** (the outgoing Representative from the department that held the last CAGONT Annual Meeting) for their efforts on behalf of CAGONT.

The Treasurer, **Tanzina Mohsin, University of Toronto - Scarborough**, provided the following financial information.

• Total balance from previous year: \$14251.51; \$3115.26 in revenue; \$2131.23 in expenses; end of year (September 2015) balance of \$15235.84.

The Executive Committee would like to encourage members to nominate individuals for the Service to Ontario Geography Award. Consider submitting a nomination for the 2016 award. It would also like to remind students about the Student Paper Competition. Annual prizes are as follows: Undergraduate \$100, Master's \$150, and Doctoral \$200. Additional information about this competition and previous winners can be found at: www.geography.ryerson.ca/cagont/#Awards.

Funds are made available by CAGONT to support student participation in the Annual Meeting. Guidelines are established each year and are normally published on the pertinent Annual Meeting website. To be eligible, students must be members of the Canadian Association of Geographers in the year that the meeting is held.

Mark your calendars: the **2016 CAGONT Annual Meeting** will be in Waterloo. It will be hosted by the <u>Department of Geography and Environmental Management, University of Waterloo</u> in late October 2016! More details to follow...

Thank you to the membership for another great year. See you at CAGONT 2016!

Dr. Peter Kedron
President, Canadian Association of Geographers - Ontario Division (CAGONT)
Department of Geography and Environmental Studies, Ryerson University
Toronto, Ontario M5B 2K3
pkedron@geography.ryerson.ca
416-979-5000 ext. 7147

More info can be found on the CAGONT website: http://www.geography.ryerson.ca/CAGONT

Check out CAGONT on Facebook. There are 181 group members and counting!