

CAGONT Canadian Association of Geographers - Ontario Division



CAGONT Annual Report 2012

The main CAGONT event this year was the 2012 Annual Meeting hosted by the Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences at the Scarborough Campus of University of Toronto (UTSC) on October 12-13. The meeting was a great success! UTSC welcomed a total of 174 delegates (including 123 graduate students, 11 undergraduates, 16 professors/professional members, and 8 others). The main theme chosen for the meeting was Diversity. There were a total of 21 paper sessions, one poster session, and a field trip to the Rouge Park lead by Dr. Michael Bunce (Professor Emeritus, UTSC) and Marvin Macaraig (Ph.D. Candidate, UTSC). Overall, 82 papers were presented and 13 posters were exhibited at the conference.

Dr. Catriona Sandilands, Professor and Canada Research Chair in Sustainability and Culture (York University, Faculty of Environmental Studies), was the keynote speaker at the plenary session this year. Her talk was entitled *Dog* Stranglers in the National Park: Ecology and Politics in the Rouge Valley. The Organizing Committee and CAGONT Executive were honoured to have Dr. Sandilands at the conference this year!

At the 2012 AGM, Dr. Bill Gough presented awards to the following recipients in the Student Paper Competition:

Kirby Calvert: Department of Geography, Queen's University (Best Doctoral Research Paper) for the paper entitled: Geographical qualities of renewable energy and their implications on energy transition management: insights from Ontario, Canada

Lisa-Jen Ferrato: Department of Geography, Ryerson University (Best Master's Research Paper) for the paper entitled: Comparing Hyperspectral and Multispectral Imagery for Land Cover Classification of the Lower Don River, Toronto

Andrew Leung: Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences, University of Toronto, Scarborough Campus (Best Masters Paper) for the paper entitled: The Effect of Warmer Temperature on Thunderstorm Frequency and Intensity from 1981 to 2010 in Toronto, Ontario

Prathees Mahendrarajah: Department of Civil Engineering, Ryerson University (Best Undergraduate Research Paper) for the paper entitled: Monitoring Land Surface Temperature of Solid Waste Disposal Site using Landsat Satellite Images from Year 1984 to 2011

The following two students tied for first place in the CAGONT Best Poster Award Competition this year:

Steven Huryn: Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences, University of Toronto, Scarborough Campus, for the poster entitled: The Weekday/Weekend Effect and Its Relation to Population and Ground Level Ozone Chemistry

Kinson Leung: Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences, University of Toronto, Scarborough Campus, for the poster entitled: The Weekday-Weekend Effect in Toronto: The Influence of Synoptic Weather Conditions on Extreme Ground-level Ozone Events in Toronto Downtown Area, Canada

The CAGONT Executive would like to take this opportunity to thank those at the Scarborough Campus of University of Toronto (UTSC) and the 2012 CAGONT Organizing Committee (including Elaine Pick, Shelley Eisner, Chai Chen, Susannah Bunce, Tanzina Mohsin, and Bill Gough) for a successful meeting! A special thank you to Drs. Bill Gough, Kathi Wilson, and Virginia Maclaren for their participation in the executive meeting and the AGM held at the conference this year.

The CAGONT Executive experienced a few changes this year. In June 2012, Dr. Randy Dirszowsky (Laurentian University) decided to resign from the position of Secretary-Treasurer of CAGONT which he held for six years. The Executive would like to thank Randy for his service to the Division! Before Randy left this position, he participated in several discussions with the Executive about major changes to the CAGONT Constitution. These changes were subsequently approved at the AGM in October 2012. One change involved separating the Secretary-Treasurer position into two new positions (i.e., Secretary and Treasurer). Results of the election that subsequently took place at the AGM are as follows:

Dr. Dan Harrington (UTM) was nominated and elected unopposed to serve as the new Secretary (2012-2014)

Dr. Tanzina Mohsin (UTSC) was nominated and elected unopposed to serve as the new Treasurer (2012-2014)

The Executive welcomes Dan and Tanzina to the team!

Wayne Forsythe (Ryerson University) was also re-elected (by acclamation) as Vice President (2012-2013) at the AGM in October 2012. Chelsea LeBlanc's (Ryerson University) term as student representative expired and Jerry Jien (UTSC) was elected unopposed. The Executive welcomes Jerry and extends a sincere thank you to Chelsea for the work she did on behalf of students over the past two years.

In October 2013, a joint East Lakes Division of the Association of American Geographers (ELDAAG) and CAGONT will be hosted by the University of Toledo (Ohio, USA) on October 24-26. Information about that meeting can be found on the CAGONT website (www.geography.ryerson.ca/cagont). Additional information about this conference will be posted in the near future. We look forward to a successful meeting!

The Executive would like to encourage members to consider nominating individuals for the Service to Ontario Geography Award (www.geography.ryerson.ca/cagont/CAGONT-ServicetoOntarioGeographyAward.pdf). It would also like to remind students about the Student Paper Competition. Annual prizes are as follows: Undergraduate \$100, Master's \$150, and Doctoral \$200. Additional information about this competition can be found at: www.geography.ryerson.ca/cagont/#Awards.

Thank you to the membership for another great year. The Executive looks forward to seeing many of you at ELDAAG/CAGONT 2013 in Toledo, Ohio, October 24-26, 2013!

Dr. Marilyne Jollineau
President, Canadian Association of Geographers – Ontario Division (CAGONT)
Associate Professor
Department of Geography
Brock University
St. Catharines, Ontario
mjollineau@brocku.ca
(905) 688-5550 ext. 4556