

CAGONT Annual Report 2011

The 2011 CAGONT annual meeting was hosted by the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies at Lakehead University-Orillia Campus on October 21-22. CAGONT was the first full-fledged academic conference to be hosted by the University's new Orillia Campus. The meeting was a great success. Lakehead welcomed a total of 103 delegates (including 75 graduate students, 8 undergraduates, 16 professors/professional members and 4 others). The main theme chosen for the meeting was *Geography and Sustainability in a Changing World*. There were a total of 11 sessions, including three special sessions from the Martin Prosperity Institute of the University of Toronto and a CAG field trip planning workshop led by Dr. John MacLachlan (McMaster University). Overall, 53 papers were presented and 18 posters were exhibited from thirteen universities and three other organizations.

During the plenary session on October 21, Dr. Kim Fedderson, Dean and Vice Provost of Lakehead University-Orillia Campus and Dr. Marilyne Jollineau, CAGONT President, welcomed delegates and thanked Dr. Sreekumari Kurrissery, Departmental Chair and Dr. Rosario Turvey, Chair of the Organizing Committee for organizing the event. The Organizing Committee was honoured to have **Dr. Derek Ford, Professor Emeritus** (McMaster University) and former CAG President, as the main speaker for the plenary session. His talk was entitled: *The Role of Karst Geomorphology in the Expansion of Nahanni River National Park and Creation of a Canal Heritage Trail International Geopark, Northwest Territories*. Those in attendance thoroughly enjoyed Dr. Ford's talk!

The recipient of the **2011 Service to Ontario Geography Award was Dr. William (Bill) Gough, Associate Professor; Vice-Dean, Graduate Education and Program Development; Graduate Coordinator, Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences, University of Toronto (Scarborough)**. Dr. Marilyne Jollineau
presented the award to Dr. Gough for his outstanding contributions to Geography in Ontario. She noted that
Dr. Gough has served as Vice President and President of CAGONT (1998/99 and 1999/01 respectively); he has
also served as a Regional Representative to the CAG National Council (1999/02).

Award recipients in the Student Paper Competition included:

Wai Yeung Yan - Ryerson University (Doctoral Research Paper) for the paper entitled: Radiometric Correction of Airborne LIDAR Intensity Data for Improving Land Cover Mapping of urban Area

Adrian Gawedzki - Ryerson University (Master's Research Paper) for the paper entitled: Assessing Anthracene and Arsenic Contamination in Buffalo River Sediments

Amy Kluke - Ryerson University (Master's Paper) for the paper entitled: Dieldrin Concentrations in Great Lakes Sediment: Spatial and Temporal Trends The CAGONT Best Poster Award went to:

Ivan Hui - Ryerson University for the poster entitled:

Towards a Sustainable Public Transportation System in the Regional Municipality of York: Analysis of the VIVA Rapid Transit (BRT)

Lakehead-Orillia Campus would like to acknowledge the City of Orillia for their external support for this meeting and the local Chamber of Commerce for marketing materials. They would also like to note that the CAGONT 2011 website, including the final program, book of abstracts and winners of student paper competitions, can be found at http://cagont2011.lakeheadu.ca.

The CAGONT Executive would like to take this opportunity to thank Lakehead University-Orillia Campus and the 2011 CAGONT Organizing Committee for a successful meeting in 2011!

CAGONT 2012 will be hosted by the University of Toronto (Scarborough Campus) on October 12-13. Information about that meeting will be posted on the CAGONT website (http://www.geography.ryerson.ca/cagont/) in the near future. In the meantime, the Executive would like to remind students about the Student Paper Competition. Annual prizes have been increased to the following amounts: Undergraduate \$100, Master's \$150, and Doctoral \$200. Additional information about this competition can be found at: http://www.geography.ryerson.ca/cagont/#Awards.

Dr. Marilyne Jollineau President, CAGONT Department of Geography Brock University St. Catharines, Ontario mjollineau@brocku.ca (905) 688-5550 ext. 4556