

Annual Report of the Annual General Meeting held at Laurentian University October 20, 2007

Dr. William Crumplin stood in for Dr. Jorge Virchez and welcomed delegates to the CAGONT Annual General Meeting, to Laurentian University, and to the City of Sudbury. He thanked **Dr. Harley d'Entremont** (Vice President Academic, Laurentian University) for speaking at the Friday evening ice-breaker and welcomed **Dr. Dan Smith** (Vice President, CAG; Chair, University of Victoria) to the conference and to Ontario. The Vice Presidents - Academic and Dean of Social Sciences at Laurentian University and the City of Greater Sudbury were acknowledged for generous financial contributions to the conference.

The conference was attended by just over 100 delegates and 64 papers and 10 posters were presented. However, it was noted that very few faculty members were in attendance, only 12 outside of the local organising committee and only two chairs of Ontario Geography Departments attended the Chair's meeting. The best showing once again consisted of faculty and students from the joint graduate program of Wilfrid Laurier and Waterloo Universities.

Dr. Marilyn Jollineau invited members to attend the 2008 Joint Meeting between CAGONT and the Eastern Lakes Division of AAG at Brock University. Requests were made for possible venues for the 2009 and 2010 annual meetings. Dr. Jollineau then thanked all who participated in the student essay competition including students and the anonymous reviewers. She then announced the winners of the 2007 competition:

Best Undergraduate Essay: Sarah Wendorf (Laurentian University)
"Separate Spheres in the Suburbs: Canadian Domestic Life after World War II, 19451960"

Best Undergraduate Research Paper: Alex Singh (Nipissing University)
"Spatial and Temporal Analysis of Drinking Water Quality in First Nation Communities in Ontario"

Best Master's Level Essay: **Heather Hall** (Waterloo University now at Queen's University) "Destined to Decline? A critical analysis of revitalization initiatives in the Greater Sudbury CMA"

Best Master's Level Research Paper: **Dan Kellar** (Wilfred Laurier University) "Olympic Development in the Callaghan Valley - A Systems View"

Best Doctoral Level Essay: Kate Hano (Waterloo University) "Threat of Creative Destruction in Krasiczyn, Poland"

Dr. William Crumplin announced that **Dr. Thomas F. McIlwraith** of the University of Toronto, Mississauga was the 2006-2007 winner of the Service to Ontario Geography Award.

Dr. Marilyne Jollineau called for nominations from the floor for a new president as the term of Dr. William Crumplin expired at the end of the annual meeting as none had been submitted beforehand. Dr. William Crumplin was nominated for a second term to end at the annual meeting in 2010 and he was elected unopposed.