

### **CAGONT Annual Report 2006**

### List of Highlights

- CAGONT 2006 Well done McMaster University!
- CAGONT 2006 Award Winners
- Executive Changes Student Rep and Secretary Treasurer
- Brief of Executive Meeting, 2006
- CAGONT 2007 Laurentian University, Sudbury, October 19 and 20
- CAGONT 2008 Jointly hosted by Brock University and Eastern Great Lakes Region of AAG, date TBA

#### **CAGONT 2006**

The annual meeting was hosted by the School of Geography and Earth Sciences of McMaster University on October 13 and 14, 2006 and it was a tremendous success thanks to a professional organising committee headed by Deane Maynard and the support of Dr. John Drake, Director of the School of Geography and Earth Sciences and the team that was assembled. There were over 70 paper presentations and a remarkable venue that spawned much networking on both professional and social scales.

#### Awards

There was no winner for the **Service to Ontario Geography Award** for 2006 as there were no nominations. The winner for **2005** was **Dr. Valerie Preston** of York University. The Executive knows that there are deserving people for this award so please begin thinking about a nomination for 2007.

Dr. Marilyne Jollineau, V.P. CAGONT (Brock University) on behalf of the awards committee announced the names of the winners of the 2006 CAGONT **student paper competition**. The winners are:

Bachelor's Level: Jennifer Asanin of the University of Toronto (Mississauga) for her paper, "...But I am on the waiting list': Examining Immigrants' Perceptions of Access to Health Care."

*Master's Level:* **James McLean** of York University for the paper, "Multiple Meanings of Muslim: Geographies of 'Being' and 'Becoming' Ismaili." *Doctoral Level:* **Ann Marie Murnaghan** of York University for "Considering the Contradictions: How the City and the Country Constructed the Bloor Viaduct, Toronto, Canada, 1897-1919."

### **Changes in Executive**

**Dr. Mary-Lou Byrne** (Wilfrid Laurier) decided to resign from the position of Secretary-Treasurer of CAGONT which she held for many years. She has moved-up, so to speak, and has assumed these duties at the national level with CAG. She will be missed and the Executive thanks her for all she has done for the Division and the discipline. **Dr. Randy Dirszowsky** (Laurentian University) was nominated and elected unopposed to serve as the new Secretary-Treasurer.

**Alison Hay**'s (McMaster University) term as student representative expired and **Kate Hano** (University of Waterloo) was elected unopposed to take over from Alison. The Executive welcomes Kate and extends its thanks to Alison not only for the work she did on behalf of students the last two years, but also for the roles she played in CAGONT 2006 being a successful conference.

**Deane Maynard** (McMaster University) was nominated for the position of Representative [of the previous CAGONT organising committee] by Dr. John Drake and the Executive accepted her nomination. Deane will work with the organising team of CAGONT 2007 on an *ad hoc* basis.

# **Brief of Executive Meeting**

The Executive (Crumplin, Jollineau and Hays: Regrets Byrne) met Friday October 13, 2006 and discussed several items. The first was the invitation from Dr. David Kaplan, President of the Eastern Great Lakes Region of the AAG to jointly sponsor a CAGONT meeting in 2008. The Executive was very supportive of this idea and asked Dr. Marilyne Jollineau if she would approach her department (Brock University) as a possible partner due, in part, to its strategic location. The Executive also discussed the need to find hosts for 2009 and beyond.

Another item of discussion concerned the idea that CAGONT members might benefit from an electronic newsletter. No decision was taken on this matter, but the Executive is open to receiving input and would love to entertain one or more offers from members to serve as a possible Editor.

The Executive also spent much time discussing the fact that it did not receive a nomination for the Service to Ontario Geography Award for 2006 and the deadline issue regarding the student paper competition. The Executive decided that the deadline for the student paper competition will not be extended in 2007. This was based on two points. First, several students met the original deadline for the 2006 competition. Secondly, the adjudicating team requires adequate time to make its deliberations. The Executive encourages Departments to notify their students that the 2007 deadline, when it is established, will not be extended. The Executive will set the deadlines for these various awards and notice will be

provided electronically, posted on the CAGONT website and placed in promotion material for the CAGONT 2007 venue.

# **CAGONT 2007**

Planning for the 2007 CAGONT meeting at Laurentian University is well under way. The Organising Committee (William Crumplin, Nicole Yantzi, Deane Maynard and Jorge Virchez, Chair, Department of Geography) is working with Laurentian's Public Relations Department and the City of Greater Sudbury to develop several field trips that will be offered for Friday, October 19. The official call for papers will be issued shortly along with the deadlines for the various annual awards/competitions.

It is important that all CAGONT members give serious thought to nominating persons for the Service to Ontario Geography Award – we had no nominations for 2006 and the Executive hopes this is not repeated for 2007.

Members should also be aware that the three year term of the current President will expire and a new President should be selected at the meeting in October 2007. Please consider potential nominees and bring these names to the 2007 meeting.

Please check the CAGONT website for award details and updates for CAGONT 2007.

# **CAGONT 2008**

The Executive learned that Brock University will jointly host CAGONT 2008 with the Eastern Great Lakes Region of the AAG. The dates are being determined and members will be notified once they have been set. It has been several years since we had a joint meeting and this promises to be a large and vibrant event. Thanks to Dr. David Kaplan for his invitation and to the Department of Geography at Brock University for accepting it!

William Crumplin,

President, CAGONT Department of Geography Laurentian University Sudbury Ontario wcrumplin@laurentian.ca (705) 675-1151 ext. 3357